Tuesday, March 6, 2012
In Ohio, selling or providing a handgun to anyone under 21 is illegal, yet headlines claim it's easy for a child to get a gun
by Chad D. Baus
Ohio Revised Code 2923.21 says it plainly - it is illegal in Ohio to sell or furnish a handgun to anyone under 21 years of age, and it is illegal to sell or furnish a firearm of any kind to a person under 18 years of age. It is also illegal to sell or furnish a firearm to another person if the seller knows or has reason to know that the firearm is intended to be provided to an under-age person. Violating this law is a felony of the fifth degree, punishable by up to one year in prison and up to $2500 in fines.
It is also illegal to steal a firearm. It's illegal to take a firearm on school property. And of course it's illegal to shoot people with it.
Yet despite all of these gun control laws, if you just landed here from Mars last week and read the headlines, you'd be led to believe the State of Ohio's laws are so loose we might as well be selling guns in school cafeteria vending machines.